Proactive management, strong partnerships and a people-centred culture have been the hallmarks of New Hope’s success. The leadership team drives an ambitious agenda with a dual focus on maximising productivity and minimising costs today while exploring new opportunities for tomorrow.

Our Directors bring a wealth of experience

Diversification has seen the business grow to ensure value for shareholders and a positive, long-term legacy for the communities in which we operate.

Our directors bring a wealth of expertise to guide New Hope’s development. Combined with extensive strategic planning, project management, governance, and finance and investment insight from the directors and leadership team, New Hope is well positioned for sustainable growth and success.


  • Mr Robert Millner – Chairman
  • Mr Shane Stephan - Managing Director
  • Mr Bill Grant – Non-Executive Director
  • Mrs Sue Palmer – Non-Executive Director
  • Mr Ian Williams – Non-Executive Director
  • Mr Todd Barlow - Non-Executive Director 
  • Mr Tom Millner - Non-Executive Director


  • Ms Janelle Moody - Company Secretary

Executive Leadership Group


Shane Stephan 

Managing Director

Andrew Boyd

Chief Operating Officer


Matthew Busch 

Chief Financial Officer

Jim Randell

Executive General Manager - Mining


Stephen Eames

General Manager - Corporate Development

Kim Franks

General Manager - People


Ben Armitage

General Manager - Resource Development

Sam Fisher

General Manager - Marketing & Logisticss 



David Vink

General Manager - Coal Operations Qld